Monarchy is a type of government, where the leader or ruler is elected from a particular family from generation to generation. The head of the country, who sits on the throne, is known as the emperor or king, and the manner in which the king is elected and governed is called a monarchy. As is known, the head of state is called the king, princess, queen, empress and emperor.

But the question is, are monarchies out of this world now? The answer is no! Even in the 21st century, there is a monarchy system in more than 40 countries of this world. You might be shocked to hear this but it is true. Out of this, the Queen of 16 countries is Elizabeth II alone. That is why today we will talk about 5 such countries apart from these, where there is still a monarchy.

1. Saudi Arab

Saudi Arabia is a very large country located in the Arabian Peninsula, its capital is Riyadh. It is also considered the largest country in West Asia. The world’s second largest religion, Islam, originated from this country. It is a very active country in the politics of the Arab region. Large deposits of oil were discovered here in the 1930s. It is one of the largest oil producing countries in the world. Therefore the economy of this country is dependent on the export of oil. This country is known for its cruel provisions of punishment and restrictions on the rights of women. Its current ruler is Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud. But you might not have heard his name much because since 2017 only Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) is the de facto King of Saudi. With Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) taking over, Saudi Arabia is now moving towards a number of social reforms and it is also diversifying its economy. Mecca-Medina, the most important pilgrimage site of Muslims, is located here.

2. Malaysia

The country is located in Southeast Asia, full of colossal caves, mighty tigers, thousands of monkeys and mesmerizing beaches. Its capital is Kuala Lumpur. It is divided into two parts, Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo, which are separated by the South China Sea. The ruler here is called ‘Yang di-Pertuan Agong’. The system of governance here is almost similar to that of Britain. Here also the position of the king is only symbolic, but the ruler here changes every 5 years. The ruler here is chosen from among the heads of nine Malay kingdoms. The interesting thing is that only these 9 people can vote in this election. The head of state of Malay who wants to become the king of Malaysia needs a majority, that is, 5 votes. The current ruler here is Sultan Abdullah who became the new king in January 2019, succeeding Sultan Mohammed V.

3. Netherlands

It is a country located in Western Europe, its capital is Amsterdam. It was earlier also called Holland. This country is a very attractive place for tourists. This country is the birthplace of the greatest artists of the world. The International Court of Justice is located in this country. It is one of the few European countries that did not remain active in World War I, but during World War II, Hitler’s forces invaded the Netherlands in 1940, causing the Dutch royal family to flee to England and the Netherlands to surrender. . But after the surrender of the German army in 1945, the Netherlands became independent. It became a member of NATO in 1949. The current freshman here is Willem Alexander.

4. Kuwait

Kuwait is a Gulf country full of oil resources. Its capital is Kuwait City. It is one of the richest countries in its region. In 1899 it became a protectorate of Britain. A huge amount of oil resources were discovered here in the 1930s, after which a new revolution took place in the economy of this country. Kuwait gained independence from Britain in 1961. It is the first country in the Gulf countries to establish an elected parliament. Kuwaiti women were denied the right to vote for a long time. Kuwaiti women were given the right to vote in 2005. The emirs here come from the al-Sabah dynasty. Recently in September 2020, Kuwait has got its new Emir. Whose name is Sheikh Nawaf Al Ahmed Al Saba. The Prime Minister of Kuwait is appointed by the Emir of Kuwait.

5. United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates is a country located in West Asia. It is located on the eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. Its capital is Abu Dhabi, it is a federation of seven emirates or simply put, 7 states. Abu Dhabi is one of these states. Its ruler is the President of UAE, you must be thinking that if this country has a President then why is it being called a monarchy? So let us tell you that unless the head of a country is elected directly by the people or by the representatives elected by the people, it is not called a republic. So there is no need to get confused by the name. The current President is Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed. Despite its small size, the United Arab Emirates plays an important role in regional and international politics. The United Arab Emirates is also a member of the UN, the WTO, the Arab League and the GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council). It is one of the most liberal countries in the Gulf. The UAE established diplomatic relations with Israel with the help of the US in 2020, a historic event. Before the 1950s, the economy of this country was dependent on fisheries etc. But when huge oil reserves were discovered in the 1950s, the direction of this country’s economy changed completely.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here